Sumer is icumen in…

And a hey-nonny-nonny *waves a sheep bladder*

PICT0011

The sweetcorn is growing, slowly.

PICT0012

That baby pumpkin is still there (yes, they’re my dirty fingers).

PICT0014

PICT0020

If you look very carefully, you can just make out the first courgette of the year appearing. I’m not convinced that’s not going to rot off yet, mind you.

PICT0023

I finished digging up the Swift spuds – on the left is what came out of about a row’s worth of plants. The spuds on the right are from *one* Kestrel plant. I’ll dig up the rest of those in the next week or so, I think, before the slugs move in. That looks like it’ll be a far more worthwhile crop, but I’ve no idea where I’m going to store them – I used to use my uncle’s discarded pigeon corn sacks, I don’t know where I’d get paper sacks from up here.

PICT0027

That looks like a healthy crop of strawbs, but at least 1 in 3 is hollow underneath when you turn them over, having been snacked on by some mollusc or other.

PICT0029

Little chillies…

PICT0033

…and a spot of planting – at the back, the redbor that went in the other day, a row of red cabbage (a mix of firebird and red jewel, though I’m not sure which are which), and under the ‘netting’, a few overwintering cauli plants (Armado April).

We’ve not been up the garden a whole lot in the last week or so, with the car being off the road, but that does mean I have a fair bit of wool-flavoured blogging to do, too – that’s next up.

~ by thingsandideas on July 25, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 49 other followers